The Chaos of Balance–Kenneth Kao

A man searching for a balanced life has many stories.

Good News, Backflip with George RR Martin, SFWA Active Membership Application Approved, a Sale, Newspaper Interview on Male Pole Dancing Goes Live, AND, Story Release on Daily SF!

This day is full of good news.  One of my Odyssey classmates and friends sold her first Pro-rate story (no name because she didn’t give me permission to announce it), and I was happy about that, but then I first received notification that my SFWA application was approved.

See, originally, they told me no.  I was under the impression that the rules said 3 or MORE sales totaling at least $250 would get me SFWA membership, and after I got my 9th sale, my 4th SFWA approved market sale, I thought that I was good to go because my total beat out the $250 minimum.  Guess this isn’t the case.  It seems that 3 sales ONLY must total at least $250.  So I was sad.  And I was like, “Bu-but-but wait!  I have a huge sale with Buzzy magazine, and I don’t see any reason why they aren’t SFWA approved!”

Silence for a month.  And then the e-mail:

“Hi Kenneth!

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you! I was waiting for the Board vote and we have included Buzzy magazine in our list of qualifying markets. So if the story sold to Buzzy plus two others gets you to the $250.00 mark, let me know and we can fix your application and get you in if you are still interested.”

Hell yeah I’m good.  I got $344 for that story alone.  Buzzy Mag  is now SFWA approved!  So, they confirm in no time, and I’m bouncing off the walls at being accepted…

When I get another e-mail:

“Dear Kenneth Kao,

Thanks for sending “Cereal as a Distraction to Meta-Awareness” to DarkFuse. I have finished my review and have decided to accept it and offer you a contract. I’ll be in touch shortly with details.

Thanks again.
Sincerely,

Shane Staley”

My story, “Cereal as a Distraction to Meta-Awareness” was accepted to Dark Fuse’s Horror D’oeuvres!  http://www.darkfuse.com/ .  Ubber ubber excited.

And THEN a video I took of doing a backflip with George RR Martin came through.

Backflip with George RR Martin

And THEN an interview I did for the Daily Camera went live on Pole Dancing.  Despite being misquoted on the number of years I’ve been training (less than 1 instead of 4), and the robotic nature my speech comes through as (due to poor reception while at Taos Toolbox), the article is quite good.

And THEN, my story, “Memories of Forgetting” came out in DSF today, and it looks like people like it!  http://dailysciencefiction.com/fantasy/parapsychology/kenneth-s-kao/memories-of-forgetting

What a good day.  Smiles for all!

And Jessica, http://jessicamaylin.com/  I win.  Muhahahah.  I almost feel like I cheated.  Oh well.  I still win.

One comment on “Good News, Backflip with George RR Martin, SFWA Active Membership Application Approved, a Sale, Newspaper Interview on Male Pole Dancing Goes Live, AND, Story Release on Daily SF!

  1. Jessica May Lin
    August 13, 2013

    Haha, congrats!!! Yes yes, I lost. Well deserved victory, bro.

    (BUT WATCH OUT. I’m still here.)

Leave a Reply

